GHD honored by three local elected officials

Rep. Susan Davis (D-San Diego), State Assemblyman Brian Jones (R-Santee) and San Diego County Supervisor Dianne Jacob recently attended a Grossmont Healthcare District board meeting to celebrate with GHD board members the 60th anniversary of Grossmont Hospital, which admitted its first patient in August 1955.

Congratulatory proclamations were presented that recognized GHD for fulfilling its mission to monitor the health care services provided at the hospital and anticipate and recognize the unmet health care needs of the communities it serves.

GHD, an East County regional public agency that supports various health-related community programs and services in San Diego’s East County, was formed in 1952 to build and operate Grossmont Hospital in La Mesa. GHD serves as landlord of the publicly owned Grossmont Hospital’s property and buildings on behalf of taxpayers.

The three elected officials also congratulated GHD board members on the partnership with Sharp HealthCare for the operation of Grossmont Hospital, which ensures continued state-of-the-art patient care services benefitting the residents of the East Region. The successful public-private partnership with GHD and Sharp HealthCare has resulted in state-of-the-art, quality patient care at a significant savings to taxpayers. GHD’s five-member board, each elected to four-year terms, represents more than 500,000 people residing within the District’s 750 square miles.

Davis represents the 53rd District, which includes La Mesa, Lemon Grove, Spring Valley and parts of San Diego, El Cajon and Chula Vista.

Jones’ 71st Assembly district includes the East San Diego County communities of Alpine, Borrego Springs, El Cajon, Rancho San Diego, Ramona, Santee, Mount Helix, Spring Valley and Lakeside, as well as the Southern Riverside County communities of Anza, Aguanga, Idyllwild, Pine Cove, Lake Riverside and Mountain Center.

Jacob won a sixth term to the Board of Supervisors, second district, in 2012. She is only the second San Diego County supervisor in modern times to serve at least five times as chair. Her 2,000-square-mile district of more than 50 communities and cities has more than 620,000 East County residents of the unincorporated communities of Lakeside, Alpine, Ramona and Julian and the cities of El Cajon, La Mesa, Lemon Grove, Santee and Poway, as well as the communities of Allied Gardens, College Area, Del Cerro, Grantville, Navajo, Rolando and San Carlos in the City of San Diego.